Comal ISD Council of PTAs Celebrates Founder's Day

The Comal ISD Council of PTAs hosted its Second Annual Founders Day celebration Thursday evening at Canyon High School. Administrators, teachers, volunteers and students from across the district joined in the festivities which paid tribute to the founding of the National Parent Teacher Association (PTA) 122 years ago.

Comal ISD is proud to work alongside the PTA chapters at each of its campuses, believing it takes the efforts of everyone to educate a child. The evening included performances by CISD student groups, dinner catered by Chartwells, a keynote address by Texas PTA President-Elect Suzi Kennon and district-wide awards. Superintendent Andrew Kim as well as Comal ISD Board of Trustee and Vice President David Drastata welcomed the guests and spoke about the importance of the partnership between a campus’ PTA and the district.

Guests were treated to performances by CHS students including the school’s Jazz Band, the Aristocats dance team, the Air Force JROTC, the choir and a special performance of the student production of Mary Poppins. In addition, CHS Student Council members greeted guests while artwork from the school’s art department was displayed.

This year’s Comal ISD Council of PTA Awards were given in the following categories: Principal of the year for both elementary and secondary, assistant principal of the year for both elementary and secondary, student leader of the year, volunteer of the year for both elementary and secondary, the PTA Endeavor award and the Founder’s Day award.

Nominations for these awards were provided by campus PTA members with the following individuals honored at the Founder’s Day celebration.

-Elementary Principal of the Year: Jacqueline Sundt from Specht Elementary

-Elementary Assistant Principal of the Year: Natasha Williams from Rahe Bulverde Elementary

-Elementary Volunteer of the Year: Brandee Vestal from Garden Ridge Elementary

-Secondary Principal of the Year: Casey Whittle from Canyon High School

-Secondary Assistant Principal of the Year: Brian Martinez from Canyon Middle School

-High School Volunteer of the Year: Kirsten Holt from Canyon High School

-Middle School Volunteer of the Year: Stephanie Hernandez from Pieper Ranch Middle School

-Student Leader of the Year: Abigail Redin, a junior at Smithson Valley High School

-Endeavor Award: Mountain Valley Elementary PTA

-Founders Day Award: Comal ISD School Board Trustee Tim Hennessee

-Texas PTA Honorary Life Membership Award: Laura Kistner, former Comal Council of PTAs president and Comal ISD Board of Trustee

The event was organized by the board members of the Comal ISD Council of PTAs which includes President Shirley Koop, Vice President Amy Gusman, Vice President of Membership Tracey Molina, Secretary Valerie Visser, Treasurer Michelle Chung, Melissa Howell, Ashley Hime, Aubrey Ramirez, Brett Reed, Cecily Walker, Chelsea Ormond, Jessica McAnelly, Jessica Shopoff, Martha Miller, Michelle Ross, Nicole Polston, Starr Lepsis and Vivian Edens, who chaired the celebration.


Read more CISD news here.